Bumpdate: Week 29

This week has been about as different as every other previous week that we’ve had during this pregnancy.  It brought many opportunities to crawl into bed and choose to make excuses, but I’ve come to realize that the more excuses you make, the farther behind you fall and the less you are able to grow- Spiritually, Mentally, Physically and Relationally.  Every day is about making those conscious decisions to not back down from a challenge and that’s challenging enough, but it’s worth it in the end.

I’m sure you can tell just from the featured picture with the disheveled hair and awesome look on my face that today was horrible… So, let’s get on into it.

Weirdest Moments

First of all, I had a pretty decent head cold this week.  It started on Tuesday and I just remember feeling way tired and a little foggy in the head. I worked until 3 that day and I came home and slept for about 2 hours hoping to kick it.  As the week went on, I loaded up on Vitamin C, B3, Zinc and fluids hoping to kick it (since, you know, you can’t really take anything while you’re pregnant) but every day it kept getting worse.  Not to mention that every night, Tuesday-Thursday I had horrible heartburn that kept me up.  So not only was I having a worsening cold that made me more and more tired, I wasn’t sleeping thanks to my Acid Reflux that I’ve dealt with for about 5-6 years now.

Thursday night was definitely the worst.  I had to prop my pillows up in just the right way to keep the acid from building, but it wasn’t comfortable enough to sleep so Friday was horrible.  I woke up after a very restless night with a hot forehead, extremely stuffed nose, and insanely tired.  I sat up in bed and cried cause I was that tired.  Luckily, I was able to be distracted at work so I didn’t have a chance to dwell on how tired I was.  However, I got home and crashed.  That was the best sleep I’ve had in about a month.

20170929_083430
1: Back supporter pillow, 2: Belly supporter pillow, 3: Blanket to support a gradual incline, 4: Head pillow

Saturday, I felt a little better, but still felt like I had to stay away from the world, so I ran the register all day, but finished the evening out well.

TODAY: Most definitely the weirdest I’ve had, and the worst.  I woke up wide awake at 4:00 a.m. and couldn’t go back to sleep, so I made my meal plan, grocery list, invitation for our Halloween Party and “shopped” on Amazon for baby things.  I had gotten up to run to the bathroom and moved around enough in bed for my body to think it was time to get up so by 5:00 my stomach was growling, but I pushed it aside thinking I’d be fine.  Worst lie I could’ve told myself.  Finally, by about 6, I was able to fall back asleep for about an hour and a half until the chickens next door started screaming at a dog or something.  We got up and got ready and headed to my parents’ house for breakfast around 9:45. By that time I was starving. I can’t express that enough. So, before breakfast was ready, I started to eat a small portion of an apple Danish, eating slowly since I know how nauseas I get if I eat too quickly on an empty stomach.  Well, I ate too much or too quickly or something, because I didn’t keep the Danish down for 5 minutes.  First time during the pregnancy I had to purge- and it sucks. Especially when I’ve got a 15 in baby inside of my belly.  I thought it would be a one-and-done sort of deal, but no. I kept heaving. 5 times of bile and body retching vomiting.  It left my stomach with cramps and my back aching.  I couldn’t move for at least an hour after I had finished.

20171001_191014
Me, trying to smile even though I’ve had a crappy day

Basically, I didn’t eat anything except Saltines until about 4 o’clock today. I was able to eat Campbell’s Chicken Noodle Soup (mostly the broth) and then an hour later I was finally able to eat the rest of the breakfast I had begged my mom to make (our Christmas tradition: Monkey Bread.  I wanted to make sure I got it this year since I have no clue what Christmas will be like this year :))

Best Moments

Tuesday: I was able to sit down and have a creative outlet.  I don’t remember when I started, but I’ve been doing personalized cutting boards for people when they get married and Tuesday I was able to crank out the ones I was giving to my co-worker.  It’s such a stress reliever and fun way to release. I only wish I had gotten a picture of the larger cutting board. That was the best of these 2.

20170929_092744.jpg

Wednesday: we got to babysit our friend’s 2 little girls which meant dinner beforehand.  This is one of the most genuine families and most generous as well, so anytime we get to spend with them is a pleasure 🙂 It was also fun to see how Nate and I handled a crying baby that was almost impossible to calm- until you bring out pictures of puppies 🙂

Thursday: Got to spend the day with my mom and brother. Mom and I finished my skirt that I had to make for one of my best friend’s wedding- which is always awesome to accomplish something like that 🙂 Thank goodness, my mom is so skilled and able to see the bigger picture! It turned out perfect and adorable, if I do say so myself 🙂 Yet another reason I can’t wait for my dear, dear friend’s wedding October 20th!!!!  Later that day we also went to get a pedicure which was much needed. I haven’t been able to reach my toes for about a month and I couldn’t stand to look at my feet… Nasty.  Oh, and we laughed so hard my mom and I both cried!  My brother just looked at us like we are goofs, but it was sure fun!

Most Excited For

After this week, I’m most excited to have my body be my body.  Then if I get sick I don’t have to worry too much about my sweet little parasite.  But if I’m being honest, I’m way excited to see our little man’s feet and hand prints as he moves.  This week we finally have been able to see his movements which has been especially great for Nate, but it just makes us that much more excited to see even more!  I can’t wait to meet this little guy!

Hopefully, the rest of my pregnancy doesn’t consist of too many more crazy ailments like I just told way too much about today.  But honestly, I’m writing this more for my and my children’s benefit, so I’m not too sorry 🙂 I’m hoping that this week was just an anomaly and that even though I know I will get more and more uncomfortable as the due date gets closer, days like today and weeks like this week will be non-existent.

 

