Bumpdate: Week 24

So it’s officially been 10 weeks since we found out we were having a little boy!  I can’t tell you just how excited we are, especially as we dream of the boy and man he will become. Nate and I talk about dreaming a ton, and we have a lot of our dreams mapped out and written down (cause how else do they become a reality), but now having another person involved in our dreams gives us more of a reason to win in life.  Yes, we always wanted kids and talked about what life would be like when we have them and what sort of life we wanted to provide for them, but somehow having this little guy arriving in a few short months gets us that much more excited. It’s seemed to help open our eyes for all the of real possibilities that we actually have access to.

So, to quote Nacho Libre, “let’s get down to the nitty gritty.”

Weirdest Moments

Well, I guess I should start with last Sunday.  I had the absolute worst headache I think I’ve ever had in my life. So much pain that it made me nauseous, and there were a few things to blame.

1. Pregnant, so weird things happen.

2. While at business meetings, I hardly drank anything… Maybe 20 oz. per day, which is a big step down from my standard 100.

3. I was extremely tight in my neck, which for me is always a recipe for disaster.

Add to that headache the horrible discomfort of being backed up for several days and I had the worst night of my pregnancy yet.  My dad tried to do a neck release for me, but I wouldn’t let him in… (energy speak… I really don’t know what all of that means) So we ended up holding my feet in place (more energy stuff) and I felt better for a second, but then my nausea came back even worse than before and my left shoulder blade started to kill. When Nate and I made it home, I quickly dressed into pajamas then laid in bed.  The nausea and headache were back with vengeance and I cried myself to sleep.

A little while later, I woke up with incredible pain in my jaw- so bad that I wished I could just break it, because I thought that would feel better, and some weird pain in my left elbow. I don’t understand it, but it was the worst thing thus far.

The rest of this week has been pretty okay except for Friday and Saturday when my coccyx hurt… and it’s still going.  After doing research, I’ve found that it’s very normal during pregnancy.  So not only had this little baby been pushing out farther and farther everyday putting normal strain on my back, I can’t get much relief from sitting anymore because of this odd coccyx pain… Oh well.

Food Cravings

Starting to wonder if I should even put this category on here.

Most Excited For

I’m excited to have my hormones back to “normal”.  I’m already a fairly emotional person, but with all of these pregnancy hormones going, I feel like everything is right on the surface and the smallest things will push me over the edge.  It’s hard when things go wrong at work, so there especially I’ve had to withdraw myself.

It’s even harder having one of my absolute favorite people in the world out of my life in a way for the next 2 years, especially when I only get to hear about how he is doing once a week.  Today in Sacrament Meeting, I felt like everything that was being said was meant for Matt, but obviously he wasn’t there, so I basically just sat the entire meeting thinking about him.  To top it off, our closing song was “God Be With You ‘Til We Meet Again”. I was fine for the first half, but then my emotions had their way with me and I found myself balling in the middle of the congregation.  The floodgates were opened and I was practically soaking my sweater.  By the time the song and prayer were over, my nose was all runny, too, so you bet I was the first one out those doors as I ran for the bathroom to clean myself up.  Ahh gotta love the pregnancy hormones.

Best Moments

Honestly, this week as I continue to “pop out”, it’s been way fun to see Nate look at my bump and get this HUGE grin on his face.  I love seeing how excited and proud he is.  It’s the best when I catch him “watching” the baby and he doesn’t even know I’ve seen him beaming at my stomach haha. Every day I get home from work, he comes to give me a hug and then either love-taps the bump or puts his head down to it and starts talking to it.  I can tell he is going to be the best dad and it makes me so so happy.

 

Leave a Reply

