You Can’t Always Do it Yourself

I don’t know why, but this is has been on my mind for the last few days. Maybe it’s the #womensmarch that spurred it… (Not a fan of it or the thought process behind it, but that’s another topic for another day). I think it spurred it because it seems like this whole “feminism” thing that has been going on lately is more about how to be completely independent rather than have the courage to lean on others for help and support. We don’t need help from anyone else, right? Wrong.

Anyways, back to the topic at hand, I have been thinking about how feminism seems to be centered around the thought that all women have to be fiercely independent and not need any help from anyone- especially from men #manhatters  Personally, I think this is crazy! I think of everything that I am involved in from “Homemaking” Activities, to dinner parties, to keeping up our home and planning meals, and there is almost nothing that I am entirely able to do on my own. Sure, it technically can be done by me, myself and I, but it is so much easier and faster to have other help.

Currently, I am the head of our Activities Committee for Relief Society in my ward. We have a meeting at least once a month to plan our next activity and I always come with my head and my notebook full to the brim of ideas. It think that I have everything planned out perfectly until my committee starts to have a discussion. They bring up things that I never thought of, they come up with ideas and activities that never even crossed my mind as a possibility. These women on my committee come from all different backgrounds and bring a lot to the table. If it were just me on the committee, it would be a failed attempt nearly every time.

Saturday, I was planning our menu for this week. I had planned to do a Cafe Rio style salad for dinner tonight and use the rest of the pork to have enchiladas one night and baked potatoes another evening. When I had originally planned this, I was thinking I would be saving money by having the meat carry on through the rest of the week, but my grocery list was longer than it has been in probably 3 months. My husband called me today and asked if I had gone grocery shopping yet. He then suggested getting some pizza from Riggatti’s tonight during their $6 pizza deal, use some of our frozen meatballs and Raspberry Chipotle sauce for another meal, and find a recipe to use some of our Cream of Chicken soup in our pantry.

This may seem super basic, and probably not significant in the least, but it really hit me how much I need others in my life. Nate was smart enough to use what we already have on hand, and while I often do try to do this anyways, sometimes, I don’t see what is right in front of me.  With Nate having the same goal as I do- to save as much money as we can- we have been able to do so much better than if I just did it on my own. That partnership and teamwork is one of my absolute favorite things about marriage. We each lift where the other may falter, we work together to make a complete picture.

Just food for thought. Just something I had to get off of my chest and out of my mind. Life isn’t about doing things on your own. It’s about learning how to work together to make life better. Coming together as a collective group that are all individual parts with completely different roles, but together makes a whole, functioning body.

 

Leave a Reply

