Fast Breakfast Ideas

Hello my friends!

Today, I want to talk to you about breakfast ideas. These are quick, simple, and relatively inexpensive- which is my favorite part 🙂 Plus, they are all filling.

But first, I want to give you guys my menu for the week, grocery list, and what it cost 🙂  I figured doing this weekly might be helpful, if not for steeling my menu, it may be helpful to see how I shop weekly. Also, this week is different in that we will not be here this weekend.

Menu:

  • Monday- Chicken Wings with potatoes
  • Tuesday- Shrimp in Thai Coconut Sauce with Jasmine Rice (yes, this is a repeat from last week. My husband loved it so much he asked for it again this week.)
  • Wednesday- Fajita Quesadillas
  • Thursday- Leftovers
  • Friday- Dinner with Hansen’s
  • Saturday-???
  • Sunday- Dinner with parents

Grocery List:

  • Paprika
  • Shrimp
  • Red Bell Pepper
  • Onion
  • Tomato (2)
  • Lime (2)
  • Avocados (2)
  • Oranges
  • Eggs
  • Milk
  • Butter
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Coconut milk
  • Flour
  • Sugar
  • Bittersweet Chocolate
  • Tortillas
  • Total: $60

Again, I just want to point out how amazing it is to have the full grocery list for this week at $60.  I had to buy cheese, paprika flour and sugar which ramped up the price, so I would have been well under which leaves plenty of room for the 2 additional meals I didn’t plan for since we were going out of town. You can do it!

Okay, not onto breakfast ideas. These are way easy!

English Muffin Sandwich

…or maybe you call it a McMuffin? Ya, I’m not about McDonald’s so Its an English Muffin Sandwich. This takes about 5 minutes to make an is pretty filling. Start with a frozen sausage patty and cook it in a non-stick skillet. Once you flip it over, add a little butter to the pan and crack in an egg. My husband likes his egg yolk runny, which apparently is a normal thing… So this goes really fast. As soon as you get the egg in the pan, load it up with salt and pepper, stick the english muffin in the toaster, and top the sausage patty with a slice of cheese.  Once everything is done, assemble and enjoy 🙂

Peaches and Cottage Cheese

Do I really have to explain this one? This is delicious, “carb-free” which one of the many crazes right now (right?) and filling. It’s kind of got that sweet and salty thing goin’ on and takes 30 seconds to assemble.

Bagel Sandwich

This can be made with really anything… The last one I made was with an egg, avocado, cheddar cheese slices, cream cheese spread, and tomato slices with salt and pepper. Make it a whole wheat bagel for added healthiness and you’re golden! Loaded with low-fat protein, fresh flavors of the avocado and tomato, and the best part… its cheap!  I also do this open face on a slice of whole wheat bread a lot. Layer avocado, scrambled eggs, cheese then tomato slices.

Hash Browns, Eggs and Bacon

This probably takes 10 minutes.  Start with a large skillet (non-stick: I use this one on a daily basis) and add a little butter to one side. Lay a layer of frozen hash browns down, and on the other side lay the bacon down. For the two of us, I probably do about 2 cups hash browns and 3 pieces of bacon.  “flip” the hash browns when the bottoms are golden brown, and flip your bacon… when you think it’s ready (people all have varying preferences for their bacon doneness(?) so this will be at your own discretion). Once you flip your bacon, do your eggs.  Put everything on a plate when its done.

Oatmeal

Perhaps more self-explanatory than peaches and cottage cheese. I put my oats in a microwave safe bowl, maybe half cup, add water until it’s just covered, and microwave it until its done. Then I either add raspberry jam or blueberries and brown sugar.

Well there ya have it. Some of my go-to breakfasts.  These are simple, fairly inexpensive, and all delightful. Better than IHOP or Denny’s, and perfect for the work day!

XOXO,

Madi

 

Leave a Reply

