Spicy Sausage Pasta

As I mentioned in my post from yesterday, this is my husband’s favorite pasta.  This was a staple dinner at our house for a while… Especially when we knew my brother wouldn’t be around to eat it. Surprisingly, he doesn’t like this at all… But don’t let that deter you from trying this.  It is amazing, and my favorite part… you can make whatever modifications you’d like, depending on what you have in the refrigerator! So lets get to it!

Spicy Sausage Pasta

Total Time: Prep: 15 minutes  Cook: 30

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. Smoked Sausage (like Kielbasa)
  • 1 tbsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 1/2 cup Minced Onion (fresh please)
  • 2 cloves Minced Garlic
  • 8 oz. Penne Pasta- uncooked (I use whatever I have on hand- except for long noodles)
  • 1 10 oz. can Rotel (this is what gives the spice, so buy the right variety for your taste pallet)
  • 2 cups Chicken Broth
  • 1/2 cup Heavy Cream (if I don’t have cream already on hand, I just use milk… I promise it works just as well, and its healthier!)
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 1/2 tsp. Pepper
  • 1 cup Monterrey Jack Cheese (again, I use whatever I have on hand. This week I used a mix of mozzarella and cheddar)
  • Optional- chopped Green Onions for garnish

Directions:

  1. Cut smoked sausage into 1/4 pieces.  If you are not using a non-stick pan, heat skillet until you can feel the heat coming from the pan.  Add olive oil and let heat up. (I find that by doing it in this order, you wont need as much oil to cover the pan, and both the pan and the oil heat up much quicker.  This also helps your food to not stick to the pan!) Add sausage and onions and cook until lightly brown. Add garlic and cook until fragrant.
  2. Add broth, cream, Rotel, pasta, salt and pepper to skillet and stir. Bring to a boil and reduce to medium-low.  Cover and simmer until pasta is tender.
  3. Remove from heat and stir in 1/2 cup of shredded cheese.  Top with remaining cheese and green onions (if desired). Broil on high until cheese is melted, spotty brown and melting.
  4. Remove from oven, let sit for about 2 minutes and enjoy!

 

I love this recipe so much because it takes on a whole new flavor profile every time I make it.  Sometimes, I make it with milk and cheddar cheese, other times, I make it with spicy Rotel and use mozzarella. This is a great dish to help you clean our your refrigerator, but it always a favorite!  What variations will you try?

XOXO- Madi

Leave a Reply

