Thankful Thursday

This week I have been thankful for many things.  However, only a few stood out enough to share.

First, I am thankful for blankets, heaters, coats, jackets, and the like to keep me warm.  As I see people post pictures of snow around them and feel the cold air blowing on my at work, I’m thankful that I have these things in my life to keep me warm.  We have a hard time with the heating system in our house since the thermostats are in the most illogical places… The kitchen may be at 75 degrees while the bedrooms are at 62 degrees… It seems like the only thing we can do is keep the systems off and try to turn on one at a time to get to the desired temperature…  Thus, I’m thankful for blankets.

Second, I’m thankful for hands.  Spoiler alert!!! For Christmas this year, I have handmade all but 2 gifts!  It has been a blast putting myself into the gifts and it has really helped me get excited for this season of Giving 🙂  As I’ve been working, its been odd thinking about how it would be to not have hands… I consider myself to be an artistic person and I think it would be the hardest thing for me if I did not have my most valuable tools.

Hands, in my opinion, are some of the most important parts of the body. They allow us to serve others by sharing talents such as piano or painting, by cooking for people in need, for handing out blankets and jackets and other supplies to people who need them.  I think of my brother and his cross country team and their hands.  Why would I think of their hands when their sport is basically based on their legs and feet?  Because that team serves with their hands.

I remember hearing a story from one of their trips to Salt Lake City in the winter to run a race. They had brought some things to give to the homeless.  After a while, a gentleman came up and asked if they had any more.  As I recall (and I may be wrong), this man was wearing shorts and owned no pants. As they looked and realized they had nothing left to give him, one of the boys recognized the need and took off his own sweatpants to give to the man.  It was cold and not the boy only had his running shorts.  Those young hands, I’m sure where blessed by the man throughout those cold months.

I think of the stories in the Bible of Christ healing the sick and afflicted, the lame and the dumb… I put myself into those stories sometimes and imagine how it would be to not have use of my hands and having the Savior come and offer to heal me. Sometimes, I don’t even thing about having a physical ailment, and having the Savior heal me Spiritually and I am even more grateful.

I think of the hands of the Savior that were pierced with nails as he was hung on a cross to die for each of us.  I think of everything they did and how they were never used selfishly, they gave, and gave, and gave.

I am the living bread which came down from heaven: if any man eat of this bread, he shall live for ever: and the bread that I will give is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world- John 6:51

I hope that we can use our hands for good, just as Christ did.  I hope that we do so, not just in this season, but throughout the year. Recognize what you can do with your hands, and don’t be afraid to use them. As you do, I’m positive you will find more happiness and gratification than you thought possible.

What are you thankful for this Christmas season?

Wishing you happiness,

Madi

Leave a Reply

