Play, Patience, Prayer and the Post

Again, these are entries for this last weekend and today (Monday)

November 20, 2015

Tonight, Friday I am thankful for the goofiness of my husband.

Tonight was our date night and I let him choose dinner and what we would do. He tends to always want me to choose what we do, so tonight was his night.  Surprisingly, I almost have to fight him to decide on what we do, but he finally made his decisions 🙂 We made shrimp alfredo then proceeded to have a “campout” in our living room.

Nate seems to know perfectly well how to make me happy.  Sometimes when I am in the kitchen cooking and I think Nate is in the office working and listening to music, he will randomly waltz into the kitchen, grab me and start to dance.  I laugh, as I often do, which makes him even more goofuy.  I love that he makes everything an adventure, fun, and thrilling!

My dear Nate, thank you for being my dream and my confidant.  You have helped me become a better person and learn to grow my own dreams. You’ve helped me learn to dream big and not settle. Not many people are able to have dreams of their own and really believe in them, let alone help others do the same along the way.  You have an amazing gift.  I love you more than words can say. I’m thankful for you everyday of my life.

November 21, 2015

Today I am thankful for patience and friends.

This morning, Nate and I went to Costco to see what kind of phones they had since my contract os ending on the 23.  As it turned out, we ended up not only getting me a new phone, but a phone for Nate AND 2 tablets. We had walked in on a fantastic deal that practically paid us to get phones. It did, however come at a price.

We spent about 4 1/2 hours in Costco getting everything set up. Luckily it wasn’t all unpleasant. Even though our salesman was incredibly helpful and kind, my patience was definitely tested.  I had a massive headache, and because I had not anticipated on being out that long,  I hadn’t had breakfast.

After all that time, we made it out with our awesome Galaxy S6 phones and ran home to prepare for our 3rd monthly couples dinner!  I’m sure a lot of you have heard of people doing a Friendsgiving meal. Basically, it’s the chance to have thanksgiving twice a year, and with your friends. It was blast with fantastic food, and even better company 🙂  I’m so glad we have such great friends that we can do things with on a regular basis.

November 22, 2015

Today I am thankful for prayer.

In Sunday School today we learned about the Holy Ghost and Prayer.  I’ve always loved that I have access to my Heavenly Father and his guidance at any time through prayer, but the lesson today really got me thinking about how grateful I am for it.

We read from the Bible Dictionary:

Prayer is the act by which the will of the Father and the will of the child are brought into correspondence with each other. The object of prayer is not to change the will of God but to secure for ourselves and for others blessings that God is already willing to grant but that are made conditional on our asking for them. Prayer is a form of work and is an appointed means for obtaining the highest of all blessings.

Is that not cool? That was amazin to read and to really understand the purpose of prayer. I began to evaluate how I pray and realized I might have to change the intent by which I pray.  How grateful I am for this amazing gift we have. I think of my relationships I have with my family and friends here, and I don’t know how I would survive without communication with them… how much more important then is our communication with our Father in Heaven?

November 23, 2015

I’m thankful today for the postal service.

I’ve been working on sending something to my dear dear friend who is currently in New Jersey.  I found it comforting to be able to actually hand write her letters, add in a little piece of me through artistic elements, and be able to send them to her.

It’s been over a year now since I’ve seen her, and it’s weird not having her around, especially through some of the biggest moments I’ll have in my life.  This is why I’m thankful for the postal service. It has given me the opportunity to connect with her on a level I won’t be able to for some time.

As Thanksgiving is fast approaching, I know we all tend to think of things we really are thankful for. We think of the people we are missing and hope for Christmas when we can hopefully see them again. With that in mind, what are you thankful for? Who do you have with you in your heart this holiday season?

Wishing you happiness ,

Madi

Leave a Reply

