In Bed

November 19, 2015

I’ll be completely honest, I wasn’t sure what I was going to write about today.  I mean, I’m always grateful for something, but what do I have that a) I haven’t already written about, or b) I have enough to say about it to even write down here.

Then I got into bed.  I realized just how grateful I am for comfortable beds! We’ve all been in situations where we had to sleep on one of those horrible fold-up bed/couch things in a hotel room, or even on the rocky, uneven ground while camping.  We’ve had those experiences when we couldn’t sleep because of our situations, right?  I know some of my craziest nights consisted of the hotel rooms on Drill Team trips and my bed-mate would randomly cuddle with me or two girls in the room would be talking to each other in their sleep…  I’ve also had nights on vacation when my brother would elbow me in the face with his extra bony arms or get close enough he could breathe his steamy breath in my face.  Good times…

But tonight, I got into this king size bed we get to use for a year or so and sunk into the covers.  My exhaustion was great, and the covers beckoned me in closer… I laid my head down on my pillow and actually let my mind wander.  I didn’t have to worry about what to make for dinner, how I had to clean up after dinner, how I had to stick to a diet, how I had to desperately work on Christmas gifts to get them done in time… I didn’t have to worry about anything at that moment because, (this may come as a shocker) when you’re sleeping you can’t do any of those things.

I have grown to love sleep.  When I was growing up, my parents had an 8 o’clock bed time for us- even in the summer.  I remember resenting it, especially when I could hear the neighborhood kids still out there playing and the sun shining on the trees outside of my bedroom window. As I got into high school, I started to love sleep.  I loved coming home after an exciting basketball game that had my heart racing (that I had no part in, by the way) and getting to slumber.

The college days were hard though.  I finally had friends that would stay out late and do stuff.  They weren’t all at home studying or sleeping like I needed to be… I started to hate being home at 10.  But, then on certain occasions when I had to stay up even later than 10 to complete a paper or study for a test, I was grateful for the next day when I could go to bed early.  I don’t think my parents knew, or know now that I was grateful for that curfew.

Nowadays, I love sleep even more.  I like to be in bed by 10, lights out by about 10:20 after writing in my Thankful Journal and studying my scriptures.

I think sometimes I may love it a bit too much.  When we are at the in-laws, I tend to fall asleep during the football game that my husband and his brothers always have on.  It’s not that I’m not enjoying myself, but I can only handle so much football on the TV.  If I’m at the game, different story. I love it.  But honestly, watching more than 1 game on TV per day just puts me to sleep… Even if my team is playing during that second or third game.

Anyways, I was so grateful for my bed.  Glad I don’t have to stress at night, glad I can relax and let my body and mind recharge.

Wishing you happiness,

Madi

Leave a Reply

