Thank You

November 11, 2015

Today, no surprise, is Veterans day.  It’s only fitting that today I am thankful for the Veterans in my life.  What a great time to celebrate everyone that has sacrificed so much to keep us safe. I admire the men and women and spouses who sacrifice so much to not only keep us safe, but to help make the world a better place.  I can’t imaging how hard it would be to leave my family to go serve, or to have my husband go out for months, sometimes years at a time.  These men and women are so brave and strong.  I’m blessed to know a few.

When I was in sixth grade, we spent several months preparing for a special dinner for the veterans in our area and in our family. We learned many patriotic songs and put on a beautiful performance for our guests.  I think that was one of the first times I really began to have a reverence for the soldiers who risked their lives. Music has always had a way of touching me more than mere words can do.  There are several vets in my family that have served in wars and heir stories are incredible, and I believe they are stronger men because of it.  I remember being in awe as my grandpa would tell us stories from the war… even though he always told them in ways that made us laugh.  I have so much respect for him and for all that he did. But I’m even more grateful that he, and the others in my family, were able to make it home safely.

I love this God-given and blessed country.  Every time I study my Book of Mormon, I am reminded of how great this land is, even when there are crazy politics going on.  I know that when our soldiers go out to defend America, God is with them. I know that we truly are “one nation under God”.  So thank you, Veterans and Soldiers for going out and protecting freedom. I know it isn’t free, but it is a blessing to have.

May we all remember what our country was built upon and thank those who are willing to stand up for those principles.  May we all be brave enough to do our own part to keep this nation strong and keep it set on those principles. Thank your family members or your neighbors who have served and remember them in your prayers.  Thank you Grandpa, Great-Grandpa and Uncle for all that you have done to keep us safe.  I know it wasn’t easy, but I’m grateful you were willing to stand up for us and our freedom.

And I’m proud to be an American, Where at least I know I’m free, And I won’t forget the men who died, Who gave that right to me, And I’d gladly stand up next to you, And defend Her still today, ‘Cause there ain’t no doubt, I love this land, God Bless the U.S.A

May you have happiness,

Madi