First an Amateur

November 5, 2015

Today, I am thankful for art.  I love art!  I love creating it, and being a part of it, seeing it and listening to it.  This morning while getting ready, I saw a video my friend had posted of  Josh Groban singing with Kelly Clarkson the song from Phantom of the Opera, “All I Ask of You”.  That was such a great way to start off my day!  They are such amazing artists, and their voices complimented not only each other, but the music and lyrics as well.

Art is interesting in the way it can impact people’s emotions.  For me, music is one of my favorite categories of art.  It lifts me up when I’m feeling low, brightens an already great day, and gets me excited for upcoming events.  Music allows people to say things in amazing ways that simple words can’t really get across.  I was a part of choir since 7th grade and while I was there, I felt like I was part of something bigger.

I’d like to say I was blessed with a small artistic gift.  I was involved in music, as previously stated, I have always loved creating with my hands (my senior year of high school basically consisted of sculpture, painting, design and drawing classes), I’ve been drawn to dance and craved every young single adult dance for the months leading up to them, and I have a deep love for cooking.  Without these, I don’t know how I would really get through.  When I am feeling stressed,  I can take a few minutes to practice calligraphy, work on homemade Christmas gifts, or start on dinner and I feel like the weight is temporarily released.

I am passionate about art.  I am thankful for the opportunity I have to connect with my family and for the relaxation it provides. ” The world without art would be, ‘eh'”.

See you tomorrow!

Leave a comment